Gluten and Rice: Types of Rice Dishes to Eat and Avoid

Gluten is a protein that is found in most wheats and grains including rye and barley. No one knows for sure why some people have allergic reactions to Gluten . So does it have Gluten? The simple answer is no but there are many types of it and some types may contain a little Gluten . The name glutinous rice is very misleading as this type of rice contains no Gluten. The name is due to the fact that glutinous rice gets glue like and sticky when cooked.

Glutinous rice


Rice is generally considered to be gluten free. Depending on the procedures it goes through when being processed, it may become contaminated with Gluten from other products or machinery. If you buy none processed rice you shouldn’t have to worry about it being contaminated by Gluten. Rice is one of the most Gluten free grains for people with Celiac disease. Alot of Gluten free packaged goods are made from rice instead of wheat. Always double check the ingredients label as the names of some types of rice can misleading. Rice Pilaf is an example of this as it contains Orzo which is not free of the protein.

rice Pilaf

Is Rice Healthy?

Rice is a very healthy starch that is apart of the diets of people all around the World. It can be prepared in a variety of ways , by a variety of means. Continue to eat healthy because your health is your responsibility!

Rice is a very nutritious grain and a staple food in more than 100 countries around the world. It’s high in starch, a type of carbohydrate that is a main source of the body’s energy, and low in cost, which makes it a good base for many meals. Natural forms of rice are all gluten-free.

Does Rice Have Gluten?

All natural forms of rice white, brown, or wild are gluten-free. Natural rice is a great option for people who are sensitive to or allergic to gluten, a protein usually found in wheat, barley, and rye, and for people who have celiac disease, an autoimmune disease triggered by gluten.

Some rice dishes may not be gluten-free, though, usually because they’re made with other ingredients that have gluten. Rice dishes that have gluten may include:

  • Rice pilaf (often made with orzo, which has gluten)
  • Rice Krispies cereal (made with malt, which comes from barley and contains gluten)
  • Preseasoned packaged rice
  • Rice cooked with sauces
  • Rice made with added seasoning or ingredients such as soy sauce

Sometimes, rice can be cross-contaminated with gluten, meaning that it’s been grown, harvested, or processed near or in the same facilities as wheat, barley, or rye. Rice sold in bulk bins, such as at a grocery store, may also be cross-contaminated. This may happen when customers mix the scoops between bins. For example, a shopper might use the flour scoop in the rice bin, which could contaminate all the rice with gluten.

Many sauces have “hidden” gluten. Sauces are often made with flour, which acts as a thickener. Seasonings may be processed around other grains and be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Types of Rice

There are thousands of types of rice, with a wide variety of sizes, colors, stickiness, flavors, and aromas.

Rice is mainly separated into five categories:

  •  Short grain. Its grain is twice as long as it is wide, and it becomes sticky when cooked.
  •  Medium grain. It has a shorter and wider grain, which becomes tender and semi-sticky when cooked.
  •  Long grain. It is four times longer than it is wide. Its grains separate and become fluffy when cooked.
  •  Whole grain. It’s rice that hasn’t been milled and polished. The grain is intact and contains bran, germ, and endosperm. Whole-grain rice is usually called brown rice.
  •  Refined. This is rice that has been milled and polished. The bran layers have been removed so that only the white, starchy endosperm is left. Refined rice is usually called white rice.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s